For US residents only.

Stages & Grading

Stages and Grading of Advanced Kidney Cancer

It is important for patients to understand how cancer is classified into stages. AFINITOR® (everolimus) Tablets is approved for use in adults with advanced kidney cancer (renal cell carcinoma or RCC) when certain other medicines (ie, sunitinib or sorafenib) have not worked.


Here is an overview of cancer staging and its effect on treatment.

What is cancer staging?

You will likely hear your health care provider describe kidney cancer as being at a certain stage. Staging is a tool health care providers use to describe your cancer’s growth. They also use it to describe the spread of cancer cells. By using the cancer staging system, your health care team can confirm

  • How large the tumor is
  • If cancer cells have spread
  • Where cancer cells have spread

What are the stages of kidney cancer?

There are 4 stages of kidney cancer: stage I, stage II, stage III, and stage IV. Stage IV is also called advanced kidney cancer. In this stage, treatment may also include surgery and medicines. 

Stages of Kidney Cancer

How does staging affect cancer treatment?

Once kidney cancer is diagnosed, staging helps your health care provider decide on the treatment journey for you.

Treatment options by stage

Stage I

  • Surgery
  • Radiation therapy
  • Arterial embolization
  • Clinical trial of a new treatment

Stage II

Stage III

Stage IV (advanced kidney cancer)

  • Surgery
  • Followed by one or more treatments